Mid-Illinois Medical District Commission Lincoln Land Community College Capital City Training Center 4:00 p.m., Thursday, February 9, 2017

MINUTES

Present:

Dr. Charlotte Warren, President
Mitch Johnson, Secretary
Guerry Suggs, Commissioner
Rob Cross, Commissioner
Jack Mazzotti, Vice-President
Rex Brown, Commissioner
Jennifer Lee, Commissioner
Joe Hurwitz, Commissioner

Dr. Elvin Zook, Commissioner

Absent:

Ramona Metzger, Treasurer Charles Lucore, Commissioner

Other Guests:

Josh CollinsLothar SoliwonSteve MyersBob GrayCourtney TapscottMichelle Ownbey

Paul O'Shea Karen Hasara

Convening of the annual meeting of the Commission

C. Warren called the meeting to order at 4:01 pm. M. Johnson initiated the roll call and verified that a quorum was present.

Commissioner appointments

C. Warren informed the Commission that she had been informed by the Governor's office that Michelle Ownbey will be appointed to the Commission to fill the current vacancy.

Election of Officers

M. Johnson presented the following slate of officers from the Nominating Committee:

Dr. Charlotte Warren, President Jack Mazzotti, Vice-President

Mitch Johnson, Secretary & Executive Committee Member at-large

Ramona Metzger, Treasurer

On a motion M. Johnson, seconded by R. Brown, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the slate of officers.

2017 annual budget

On a motion by J. Hurwitz, seconded by G. Suggs, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the 2017 annual budget as presented.

Approval of the minutes of the December 8, 2016 Commission meeting

On a motion by G. Suggs, seconded by J. Mazzotti, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the minutes of August 11, 2016 meeting.

Financial Report

On a motion by E. Zook, seconded by J. Hurwitz, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the November 2016 Financial Report.

Old Business

C. Warren presented the annual contract with The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce to provide administrative services to the Commission. C. Warren reminded the Commissioners that the contract did not cost the Commission any money. On a motion by G. Suggs, seconded by R. Brown, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the contract for services.

C. Warren presented the results of a survey of the Commissioners for the 2017 meeting schedule. C. Warren informed the group that the best time according to the survey was to continue meeting on the Second Thursday at 4 pm. C. Warren noted that a majority of Commissioners wanted to hold the regular meeting on a quarterly basis. Commissioners then discussed if meeting every other month or quarterly would be more appropriate. On a motion by J. Lee, seconded by R. Brown, the Commission members present unanimously voted to continue meeting every other month until June with the regular meeting schedule being the second Thursday of even numbered months at 4 pm.

New Business

C. Warren presented the draft Biennial Report. On a motion by G. Suggs, seconded by J. Hurwitz, the Commission members present unanimously voted to approve the Biennial Report.

Reports of Commission officials

J. Hurwitz, and M. Johnson reported on their research into hospital suppliers.

Presidents Report

There was no Presidents report.

Public Comment

L. Soliwon discussed the recently completed brochure and passed out copies to those present. The Commission asked to add the brochure to the website.

K. Hasara discussed the Sangamon County Citizens Efficiency Commission and offered their assistance to the Commission.

- P. O'Shea discussed the recently completed brochure and the need to bring together downtown, Enos Park and the Medical District.
- S. Myers discussed the need for workforce housing and how land that Downtown Parking Incorporated owns could be involved. S. Myers informed the Commission that he is working on a proposal and could come back to the Commission for assistance.

Adjournment

On a motion by J. Lee, seconded by J. Hurwitz, the Commission members present unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 4:40 p.m.

Submitted by:

Mitch Johnson MIMD Commission Secretary